World Cup Final


ISSF World Cup Final

ISSF World Cup Final

Frequency: every two year, one in Rifle/Pistol events and one in Shotgun events

Last edition: 2017 ISSF World Cup Final in New Delhi (IND)

Next edition:
2019 ISSF World Cup Final in Al Ain (UAE)
2019 ISSF World Cup Final in Putian (CHN)

Number of shooting sport events: 15 events in three disciplines

Medal winners at the ISSF World Cup Final

Find out the medal winners of the ISSF World Cup Final in all its editions!

The ISSF World Cup Final

Every two years the ISSF World Cup Final is organized as a conclusion to the ISSF World Cup Series. Usually, two separated finals are organized: one in Rifle/Pistol events, one in Shotgun events.

At the end of the World Cup Series the eight shooters holding the highest qualification score in each event are qualified for the ISSF World Cup Final. A maximum of two athletes per nation can compete in each event.

Alongside these eight athletes, wild cards are granted to the title defenders and to the three medalists of the Olympic Games and of the World Championship, when these competitions are held.

How to qualify for the ISSF World Cup Final

The qualification to the ISSF World Cup Final can be obtained by gaining points throughout the ISSF World Cup Series.

Every athlete who is officially registered to compete in an ISSF World Cup by his shooting federation can qualify in one or more events.

How to gain points for the ISSF World Cup Final

At every ISSF World Cup stage two different categories of points are awarded: A points and B points.

A points are awarded depending on the final ranking of the shooter: 15 points for the 1st place, 10 points for the 2nd place, 8 points for the 3rd place, 5 points for the 4th place, 4 points for the 5th place, 3 points for the 6th place, 2 points for the 7th place and 1 point for the 8th place.

B points are awarded depending on the final score of the shooter: the closest to the Qualification World Record, the more points are gained. 15 points can be obtained by equaling the record or by setting a new one; one point is deduced for every difference-point between the record and the score.

A and B points are added together at the conclusion of the World Cup stage to obtain the ISSF World Cup Final Qualification Value. A maximum of 30 points is possible.

If a shooter obtained more than one qualification value, for example by participating in two or more different stages, only the highest one will be valid. In case of tie between two or more values, the tie will be broken according to: the higher B value, the higher score in the qualification round, the higher score in the final round, the higher qualification ranking.

Wild cards

Apart from the qualification system, all the World Cup Final title defender are automatically qualified for the following one. Also, in the years of Olympic Games and ISSF World Championship, the gold, silver and bronze medalist of these competitions are automatically qualified. In the years between, only the title defenders and the Olympic and World champions are automatically qualified.

The limit of two athletes per NOC does not apply to the title defenders and Olympic and World Championship medalists. Also, if any of these athletes own one of the top-eight qualification values, the slot will go to the shooter that follows in the ranking.

At least two athletes may represent the organizing member federation in each event. If no shooter qualifies, or if only one is qualified, the ISSF may award one or two wild cards to the team. If both cards are awarded, they should be given to one male and one female athlete, although, in exceptional cases, wild cards can be awarded so the organizing federation is represented by two men or two women.

To receive the wild cards, the organizing federation must apply to the ISSF Headquarters by nominating the athletes designated to receive the cards. Application must include athletes’ names, ID numbers and the event in which they will participate.


Official Partners