The city of Munich has been the home of the ISSF since February 1980, and the current leadership team is headed by President Luciano Rossi (elected for a four year term in December 2022) while the ISSF Secretary General is Mr Alessandro Nicotra di Giacomo, whose nomination to the position in February 2023 was approved unanimously by the ISSF Executive Committee during a meeting in Rome.


Following the foundation of ISSF in 1907, when it was known as the International Shooting Union (ISU), the secretariat was located at the office of the French federation in Paris, France and remained there until the outbreak of the second world war in 1939.

Fortunately, at least one man was planning for a return to peace. Prompted by his great interest in the shooting sport and his deep conviction that the international shooting sport could contribute to world peace and good will among nations, Carl August Larson, a Swedish journalist, made the risky journey from Stockholm to Paris to collect records from the former secretariat for safe keeping in a neutral country.


On the initiative of Erik Carlsson and Carl August Larson of Sweden, the international federation was reborn in 1946. These men were both elected to the respective offices of president and Secretary General of the ISU. This meant that after more than 30 years, the headquarters was moved from Paris to Stockholm where it remained until 1960.

With the election of Mr. Ernst Zimmermann as Secretary General of the ISU, as well as of the German federation, the headquarters was moved to Wiesbaden, where the national body was based. Their modern offices and facilities were home to the international governing body until 1980.

With the election of Mr. Olegario Vázquez Raña as president and Mr. Horst G. Schreiber as Secretary General in February 1980 in Mexico City, the headquarters was then relocated to the city of Munich where it is still located today.


Widenmayerstrasse 16
Phone: +49-89-5443550 (office) 
Fax: +49-89-54435544 (office) 


ISSF Partners